Ooh la la! Be French: Visit Artisinal Fromagerie During NYC Restaurant Week

Every year, I am always torn over whether to visit an old favorite or try a new place during NYC Restaurant Week. There are so many decisions to weigh! French? Italian? American? Uptown? Midtown? The Village? So many great places – so little time.

I narrowed down my decision to Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro, a French place located on 32nd between Park & Lexington, Midtown East. One of the reasons that I chose that place was its proximity from my job. I’d be able to walk there in under 20 minutes. Another reason was that I had vaguely recalled some Facebook friends mentioning it positively on a post.

My party arrived a few minutes ahead of me and were seated promptly. Unfortunately, I couldn’t partake of their wine list that night because I was sick with a sinus infection and highly medicated 😦 The waiter offered me tea instead, which I graciously accepted. The Earl Grey felt really good going down my sore throat. I just didn’t expect that it cost $5 for a cup of tea, but hey, it’s New York.

The first course that I selected was the Grilled Leeks Vinaigrette. It was basically a salad with a deep fried soft boiled egg inside. It was good, but my companion’s butternut squash soup with roasted pumpkin seeds was better.

Next up was our main entree. I ordered the Aged Hanger Steak with pomme frites and a side of truffle mayonnaise (this entree incurred an $8 supplement to the $38 prix fixe). Whatever the cost, it was so divine and so worth. I never knew that steak could be this good! It was so falvorful, buttery and absolutely melted in your mouth. I’m still dreaming about it! The truffle mayo went so well with the frites. I read a review on Open Table that suggested trying the truffle mayo. Good recommendation! Delicious!!

Aged Hanger Steak with Frites.

Aged Hanger Steak with Frites.

Finally for dessert, we had a tough decision! I’m happy to report that they had a wonderful selection (are you listening NOBU?) Passion Fruit Pavlova, Creme Brulee, Home Ice Cream or a Selection of Three Artisanal Chesses. I chose the Creme Brulee because I absolutely love it and never get to make it at home. It didn’t disappoint. Frankly, I think that it’s a sad day when a Creme Brulee will fall flat of great expectations. My dinner companion chose the Passion Fruit Pavlova. It had a meringue shell encasing ice cream in an exotic fruit soup with pomegranate. very original and very delicious! I still would have like to have tried the cheese sampling. Maybe next time.

Passion Fruit Pavlova

Passion Fruit Pavlova

The atmosphere was evocative a Paris bistro, transforming you to another time and place. The service was spot-on and I never had to hunt the waiter down for a thing. Anyone who knows me knows that I had to be kept waiting for 20 minutes after my meal is finished for the waiter to deliver my check. I’m happy to say that wasn’t an issue here.

I can honestly say that the portions weren’t too small, we left super full and were unable to eat another bite (again, are you listening NOBU?)  I would highly recommend visiting them during Restaurant Week, or any other time that you’re in NYC.

Two very stuffed and happy thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

